Hot atheist buns

One of the delights of blogging on WordPress is that there’s an ever changing selection of posts on the front page, and I have found some real gems there. Today’s find was a recipe for hot cross buns, from Butter Sugar Flour, a blogger based in Melbourne. Fantastic – I like using recipes written or adapted by antipodean cooks, because they suit local ingredients, and they are written in terms I understand. I have seen some fabulous recipes from North American and European sites, but the recipes which work for me and my cooking style are the local ones.

I prefer to make my own buns; the store or supermarket bought buns are often hard and cardboardy and flavourless, designed to appeal to a mass palate. Butter Sugar Flour’s recipe looked excellent, but I do regard a recipe as an opinion about which ingredients should be used, and how they should be combined, rather than a hard and fast rule that must be followed. So I adapted her recipe slightly, adding about a tablespoon of exceedingly strong coffee, and using brown sugar instead of white, both in order to get a lovely, brown coloured bun. I didn’t have mixed spice on hand, so I used ginger, nutmeg and a bit of allspice in addition to the cinnamon. I contemplated some almond essence, but decided against it.

rawbuns.jpgIn the spirit of Easter, that is, appropriating existing feasts and festivals to your own purposes, I made not hot cross buns, but hot atheist buns. Instead of piping macabre crosses on each one, I made atheist “A”s, ‘though not in scarlet. I didn’t think the food colouring would survive the baking process. The sharp-eyed reader will notice that the buns are in a checker pattern, half with currants and sultanas and glace (candied) peel, and half without; the little godless heathens in my house don’t like dried fruit.

And the finished product, hot from the oven, dripping with butter, full of flavour and with a beautiful texture. Perfect with a cup of coffee, and just the right way to mark Good Friday.

bun.jpg
14 comments on “Hot atheist buns

  1. Garrick says:

    Ooooh the butter! Heart attack on a plate, but oh so good. Nice effort Deborah.

  2. Curmudgeonly says:

    I like your buns. They look delicious.

  3. Linda says:

    Thanks for the shoutout! Your atheist buns look fab! 🙂

  4. bluemilk says:

    Oh you are clever!

  5. che tibby says:

    (except… i skim-read, and wondered why you were making anarchist buns)

  6. psychokiwi says:

    Brilliant! I made non-cross buns this year, but I like the look of your atheist buns even more.

  7. rayinnz says:

    I love the whole concept of an atheist bun almost as much as an anarchist one which I presume would not only be hot but would explode

  8. Robin Capper says:

    I just heard on the radio you could have done the cross. It predates Christ and is a variation of the original symbol, a curved )(, which represented two Ox horns.

  9. Ruth says:

    Wish I had this recipe earlier! It’s impossible to buy buns with peel in them in Auckland. I like peel 😉

  10. donnasoowho says:

    Gee who has time to make their own friggin’ buns? 🙂 I have to say I am quite partial to the chocolate x-buns they have at Bakers Delight, they are quite delicious (and less cardboardy if you like put them in the microwave for about 15 seconds).

  11. Deborah says:

    who has time to make their own friggin’ buns?

    Mothers with three children, of course!

  12. Moz says:

    I like the A’s, whichever way you look at them. And if we can have bong-throwing anarchists in Sydney you’re certainly entitled to be a bun-throwing atheist in Adelaide.

  13. Anji says:

    Oooh nom, now I’m going to have to try my hand at it. I think mine will be Ostara buns… Hot Pagan Buns with pentagrams instead of crosses. Yours look delicious, I hope mine come out looking even half that good! 😀

  14. I do to like dried fruit!!!!!!!!! It’s only my sisters that don’t!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

