What atheists eat on Good Friday

fsmbuns

Hot Cross Flying Spaghetti Monster buns, of course!

I freely admit that some of these depictions of the Flying Spaghetti Monster look a little like Shadow vessels. Perhaps there’s something in that.

I used the same recipe as I used last year to make Hot Atheist Buns, except that I used brown sugar instead of caster sugar, and I added a teaspoon of cocoa, both to make the buns browner. They were a little too sweet for my taste, so next year I may use half and half caster and brown sugar, and coffee instead of cocoa.

Sigh…. I will stop banging on about atheism soon. I have been a little put out by the events of the season.

9 comments on “What atheists eat on Good Friday

  1. Giovanni says:

    I’ve often wondered if the cross happens to be a symbol in so many religions because of the incision that people of a variety of cultures made in their bread. Couldn’t be the origin of the symbol in Christian religion, obviously, but some think that the hot cross buns actually predate Christianity (and I talked elsewhere about how panettone, the traditional Itlaian christmas cake which also used to have a cross at the top, almost certainly does.)

  2. Deborah says:

    Giovanni’s post about panettone.

  3. Carol says:

    Magnificent!
    I like the way they continue to evolve in a very Darwinian fashion.

  4. violet says:

    I wouldn’t be surprised if every major Christian tradition/ritual was based on a non-Christian one. Isn’t that one of the reasons that Christianity established itself in so many cultures?

  5. Giovanni says:

    The cult of the saints as practiced back home, in South America and in other catholic countries co-opted a number of local deities and helped greatly in the acceptance of Catholicism, and politeism to this day is alive and well in places like Naples, albeit under the guide of Christianity. It really is quite something.

  6. lauredhel says:

    They’re lovely!

  7. […] April, 2009 by penguinunearthed Inspired by Deborah’s great series on atheist parenting within the public school system, I share with you this conversation […]

  8. exexpat says:

    I made these buns before easter but went down to the ‘naki where the sign ‘horse poo $2 a bag’ greeted me on the way into New Plymouth

Leave a Reply

