As seen in the Adelaide Central Markets

notpav

Berry and chocolate chip pavlova

That ghastly roll thing is not pavlova.

.

pav

This is pavlova.

Which as is well documented, is of New Zealand origin.

That is all.

18 comments on “As seen in the Adelaide Central Markets

  1. artandmylife says:

    Item 1 looks like a roulade to me. But not a pavlova

  2. Pavlov's Cat says:

    Oh dear, I hope that wasn’t the Providore!

    Surely not.

  3. ThirdCat says:

    I’d still eat it.

  4. donnasoowho says:

    OH… I think I’d still eat it too…

  5. demelza says:

    number one looks strange, number 2 looks yummy

  6. Deborah says:

    I’m not sure who it was… that bakery stall that has the chocolate fountain (which my children love), and is just across the way from Zuma, and just down the way from Lucia’s, where we took visiting family for coffee and cake.

    Yes, I would still eat it too. But I wouldn’t call it pav.

    And yes, number 2 was very yummy. Best pav I’ve ever made – crisp on the outside, marshmallowy in the inside, and not a hint of chewiness. Subsequent pavs have failed to match its high standards, but I shall keep on trying.

  7. M-H says:

    Pav. Mmmmm. I’ve never made one (kiwi housewife FAIL), but I love to eat a tiny slice of one. Can you fax a bit over? 🙂

  8. ThirdCat says:

    Sounds like it is providore

    I got one of those chocolate fountains for the mister’s 40th birthday. It was brilliant.

  9. Deborah says:

    It’s on its way, M-H.

    Should you feel inspired to try making one yourself, I recommend Annabel Langbein’s recipe. Or you could try Maggie Beer’s version, which looks good to me, and a bit smaller than Annabel Langbein’s.

  10. homepaddock says:

    “Best pav I’ve ever made – crisp on the outside, marshmallowy in the inside, and not a hint of chewiness. ”

    That’s how they should be – achieved by very slowly adding sugar and beating well between additions and cooking it in a hotter oven for 10 minutes to crisp the outside then turning the temeprature down and cooking for at least an hour to dry out the inside.

  11. Daleaway says:

    That top thing is a roulade. You can make them in the microwave with no bother. They’re just gloop.

    For a change from pavs I like making stacks of meringues and piling them up into a pyramid with cream, then sticking fruit in all the crevices. On a stem dish. Looks like you have gone to a lot more trouble than you have.

    Especially nice after the remains have been sitting overnight in the fridge. But you only get remains if you make too much, and that’s surprisingly hard to do!

  12. Pavlov's Cat says:

    Daleaway, do you mean like a sort of meringue croquembouche? What a fantastic idea, and it would look gorgeous.

  13. I’d like to think of myself as an equal opportunity dessert eater, so I’d happily scoff both, but there is something very special about a good pavlova. Although I might blaspheme and say I kind of like them when they’re chewy in the middle.

    Do you turn off the oven and leave your in overnight? I’ve heard this is the trick, although I’m skeptical. I made a two pavlovas at Christmas (the first one was a test one) and left the second one in overnight, and I can’t say I noticed the difference.

  14. Giovanni says:

    Welcome to my world. If I had a dollar for every time I thought to myself or said out loud, “sorry, that ain’t a pizza”, I’d be able to open a pizzeria with outside tables and a seaview.

  15. Daleaway says:

    I do know what you mean, Giovanni. Pizza is evolving in mysterious ways – some of them are good, and some good grief. (Anyone for the Food in a Minute poisoner’s baked bean and oven chip pizza? Just as I thought.)

    Yes a sort of croquembouche is just what I mean, but with fruit, and the cream between the layers instead of in the puffs.

    Meringues can be left in the oven overnight if you wish. It works in many ovens. It all depends on how well you know your oven. Every time I move house or replace my oven I have to learn my settings and timings all over again. As I have put new kitchens and new ovens in my last four houses, this has meant a lot of humility.

    Personally I like to do my meringues on about 125C and give them a couple of hours. Or switch off the oven after 2 hours and leave them there to get cold. One trick is not to use eggs straight from the fridge. Baking paper is very good, or if you don;t have that, stand them on a scone tray on cooking foil that has been run under the cold tap and shaken. There are more tricks, but everyone has their own and I bet Deborah has a few up her sleeve – she seems a wonderful cook.

    I do like Aunty Helpful Dictator’s nick!

  16. Deborah says:

    Thank you, Daleaway! I am an enthusiastic cook, but there are plenty of things I haven’t tried to make…. yet.

    But I am relatively new to meringue making. I’ve only been making them for about three years, and I only started when I finally bought myself a Kenwood mixer. I love my Kenwood.

    I’m told that real pavlova experts don’t use any cornflour in the mix. I have not yet progressed to that stage. But I do cook them at about 180 for about five minutes, to crisp up the outer edge, and then turn the temperature down to about 130 degrees for another hour or so. So I think I cook them a bit faster than you do. And if possible, I just turn the oven off and leave the pav sitting there overnight.

    Little meringues…. we have family staying with us, including another Miss Ten who is just a few months younger than our Miss Ten, and they are very good friends. We have invited our Miss Ten’s friends over for afternoon tea tomorrow, to meet visiting Miss Ten. Little meringues could be in order.

    Other afternoon tea suggestions for a gaggle of ten and eleven year old girls, plus the two Miss Sevens, will be gratefully received. I only wish I had one of those lovely three tiered cake plates.

  17. stef says:

    Cupcakes!!! Even more fun if you have a few bowls of icing and small lollies for decorating.

  18. MsLaurie says:

    Late to the party – indeed, the party will be over – but a good idea for future events with the Misses Seven and Ten:

    Get marie biscuits (or anything similar, like arrowroots), mix up a bowl of white icing (just icing sugar and water), and a separate bowl of hundreds and thousands or other types of sprinkes.

    Get the kiddies to coat one side of the biscuit with icing, then dip it icing-side down into the bowl of sprinkles, and wah-lah! Rainbow biscuits! Tasty, easy, cheap and quick. And fun and interactive for small kiddies 🙂

Leave a Reply

