More good taste, or bad

Mr Strange Land had a birthday on Saturday, and the strangelings decorated his birthday cake.

strangecake

It tasted good, but good taste or bad? Should it be seen in polite company?

This entry was posted in Food.

18 comments on “More good taste, or bad

  1. Pavlov's Cat says:

    I think children’s art (in which I include cake decorating, particularly the decoration of cakes for the birthdays of fathers) is, like real flowers, never in bad taste.

    Have you taken the Strangelings to the Royal Show yet? There is a whole separate Junior section in the Cake Decorating (Handicrafts Hall).

    I also suggest very strongly that while you’re there you should check out the honey and preserves, particularly the passionfruit butter. Inspirational, the preserves are.

  2. Adele Villemez says:

    I totally agree with PC. I think it looks like children decorated the cake and did it without an annoying grown-up standing over their shoulders saying, “Do you really want to put that color there?” Not interfering with a child’s creativity and proudly showing off her accomplishments in any kind of company, polite and otherwise, is in good taste in my opinion.

  3. Anji says:

    I can’t see what might be ‘in bad taste’ about it… perhaps I’m just being dense?

  4. Deborah says:

    The outrageous colour combos? But I’m definitely on the side of good taste here. The girls had a lovely time sorting the smarties into colours, and then choosing two colours each, deciding on a design, and getting to work. The only parental advice I gave was to save the larger colours (i.e. the ones with the most smarties) for the outside rings.

    They ate the leftovers.

  5. Giovanni says:

    I think this is enquestionably good taste for the reasons very ably illustrated upthread.

    I’m off to eat lollies now.

  6. rayinnz says:

    The cake decoration plus the plate are certainly “eye catching”

    The plate is what I am worried about, I think there is something equally hidious in my house
    Was it at sometime at sometime long ago Taranaki wedding present?

  7. Deborah says:

    rayinnz, it’s one of my favourites! It’s a silverbeet leaf plate. Not the best for cakes, but the only one I’ve got that is about the right size.

    I’m going to have to take another look at it now. Its colour certainly adds to the general ambience of the cake.

  8. George says:

    I want cake.

  9. stef says:

    I think its brilliant and amazed how many ended up on the cake!

  10. Mindy says:

    I want cake too! I agree with Pav, anything done by children is great. It has a lovely 70’s feel to it.

  11. homepaddock says:

    If children can co-ooperate, produce something and have lollies left over the design merits of the result are irrelevant.

    Besides the only taste which matters with cake is what you get when it’s in your mouth.

  12. violet says:

    Looks remarkably similar to the cake I decorated for my daughter’s 3rd birthday. But the M & M’s are much more nicely arranged in your kids’ version.

  13. rayinnz says:

    On second thoughts your plate is far superior to our bowl, which is Wade
    I tried take a photo but the particular green doesn’t come through although the pebbled effect does..hideious froggy thing
    It was famous in Taranaki in the 50s for containing a rice salad when asked “to bring a plate” apparently!

  14. Helen says:

    I think the way the cake is oozing slightly towards the viewer is a bit eeeevuuulll. It’s COMING FOR YOU…MWAHAHA!

    Hopefully you ate it before it could get you!

    • Deborah says:

      I had been wondering if anyone would notice that. I sliced it in half and filled it with jam, but it was still slightly warm, so a bit of the crust was knocked off when I sliced it. I plastered it back together with icing, but it didn’t quite hold. However it stayed in one piece until it was served, following the usual candle-blowing-out and Happy-Birthday-singing ceremonies. Just one candle: I didn’t think that we would be able to fit 46 in between the smarties.

  15. lmrb says:

    So, you ate what looks like a dotty, flat-headed person with a protuding tongue and one ear, and served on a platter that looks like a piece of lettuce (or an escapee from my mother’s china cabinet). No accounting for “good taste”, ahem.

  16. Gae Fenske says:

    Lovingly done by the youngsters – the very best of good taste.

Leave a Reply

