Just sayin'

This afternoon, I put together this flatpack bookcase from Ikea. I did it without swearing, without having to go back and re-do anything, without damaging the wood or paintwork, without even breaking into a sweat perspiration all-of-a-glow. However, I did cheat a little.

bookcase

My cheating technique? I followed the instructions. Exactly.

5 comments on “Just sayin'

  1. kate says:

    The larger version of those shelves is known amongst my friends as the “marriage wrecker”.

    I did, with a team of pals, assemble such a thing with much merriment, and can advise against ever assembling furniture on a wonky floor in East Brunswick. Should you ever find yourself living in East Brunswick, where all the floors are wonky, you should buy furniture already assembled.

    • Deborah says:

      The “marriage wrecker.” Sounds like wall-papering a room, which my mother says is always good for at least one marital full and frank exchange of views.

      I avoided the problem by avoiding the bigger bookshelf (space constraints), and by doing it all by myself.

  2. Vibenna says:

    Sounds like you are the handy one. From each according to their abilities?

  3. kate says:

    I assume that you also shopped for the shelves solo? Because by the time I get to the lighting section of Ikea I am on a hair trigger, the Bloke has been instructed never to dally there. You may have noticed, there is still quite a lot of Ikea to go when you are in the lighting section. I mostly survive by people watching and turning anthropologist.

  4. M-H says:

    I am an IKEA Queen. I love making IKEA furniture and have made lots of useful objects that have served me well for years. And I agree with your cheating technique. Exactly.

Leave a Reply

