NZ Book Month – My Brown Bear Barney

My Brown Bear Barney, by Dorothy Butler, illustrated by Elizabeth Fuller

bbbcompThis is the first book that I ever read to a child of mine. On the day my eldest daughter was born, my mother gave her a compendium volume of Brown Bear Barney stories. At that stage, we had not even named her. The inscription in the book reads:

To my grand daughter, to begin your library with a book from New Zealand, written by a hero of mine. With much love – and looking forward to reading this to and with you. From [Grandmother]

In the afternoon of the day she was born, I sat up in bed with my beloved, beautiful daughter in my arms, and read her the first story in the compendium, My Brown Bear Barney.

bbbMy Brown Bear Barney is an engaging tale. A little girl has a brown teddy bear, Barney. She takes Barney everywhere – shopping, playing with her friend Fred, gardening, to the beach. But will she be allowed to take Barney to school?

I recommend this book, highly. The language is simple and interesting. Each page has items for children to identify in the illustrations, which are detailed without being confusing. And the punchline is lovely. My daughters always wriggled with delight, and chuckled. They have also been known, on occasion, to take their bears to school.

My eldest daughter's brown bear Barney

My eldest daughter's brown bear Barney

***************

NZBMsmlI’m taking up Ele’s challenge, and blogging a book a day in October, which is New Zealand Book Month. All the books are by New Zealand authors.

2 comments on “NZ Book Month – My Brown Bear Barney

  1. […] at In A Strange Land Deborah posts on the first book she read to her baby daughter, Dorothy Butler’s My Brown Bear […]

  2. Adele Villemez says:

    What a sweet story.

Leave a Reply

