NZ Book Month – My Cat Likes to Hide in Boxes

catinboxesMy Cat Likes to Hide in Boxes, by Eve Sutton, illustrated by Lynley Dodd

Famously, Eve Sutton asked her cousin (by marriage) Lynley Dodd to collaborate with her on this book. Lynley drew the pictures to go with Eve’s rhymes about the clever things various cats do. However, Eve sensed that Lynley had more stories to tell, so she urged her to write them. And so Hairy Maclary was born, about whom I will surely blog during this book month. In the meantime, this book is an excellent one for small children, and one that my girls loved.

The book is a stacking tower of rhymes.

My cat likes to hide in boxes.

The cat from France liked to sing and dance
But MY cat likes to hide in boxes.

The cat from Spain flew an aeroplane.
The cat from France liked to sing and dance.
But MY cat likes to hide in boxes.

The cat from Norway got stuck in the doorway.
The cat from Spain flew an aeroplane.
The cat from France liked to sing and dance.
But MY cat likes to hide in boxes.

And so on.

The ever increasing rhymes work very well for children. They like the familiarity of the repetitive language, and of course rhymes are excellent for language acquisition, and a very important building block for reading. And in among all the clever things that other cats do, there is the terribly clever thing which the narrator’s cat does – MY CAT LIKES TO HIDE IN BOXES. Any adult knows that all domestic cats like to hide in boxes, but of course small children won’t know that. So they will think that they too have a very clever and special cat when they see their own pet hiding in a box.

catbox

***************

NZBMsmlI’m taking up Ele’s challenge, and blogging a book a day in October, which is New Zealand Book Month. All the books are by New Zealand authors.

7 comments on “NZ Book Month – My Cat Likes to Hide in Boxes

  1. […] at In A Strange Land is reading My Cat Likes to Hide in Boxes by Eve Sutton, ilustrated by Lynley […]

  2. Carol says:

    We loved this book too, and I like the photo of your cat. Our cat loves curling up in file boxes too – I have to buy new ones on a regular basis as owing to his rather generous build he squashes them.

  3. su says:

    I cannot tell you how much I love Lynley Dodd. I love the rhythm of the language, I adore Scarface Claw and Slinky Malinky, there is just enough in the stories to hint at a world beyond so the imagination can have a little play. I read the books to my boys hundreds of times and the phrase “Scarface Claw – the toughest Tom in town!” followed by fierce hissy spitty yowly noises is still a reliable way to have my youngest in stitches. Please yes more on Lynley Dodd : )

  4. Carol says:

    Actually, to be honest, I find the Hairy McClary books a little … formulaic, though the wee ones don’t seem to mind that. I particularly liked ‘My Cat Likes to Hide in Boxes’ as it is quite different to the Hairy McClaries.
    But what would I know? 🙂

  5. Giovanni says:

    I’m with Carol, not a huge fan of the Hairy Maclary franchise but My Cat Likes to Hide in Boxes is just brilliant and I think we ended up buying three copies, to withstand the exhuberant love of the progeny.

  6. TimT says:

    Ah yes. Harriet and Beatrice like to sit in boxes too.

    http://lexiconharlot.blogspot.com/2009/08/why-boxes-shouldnt-trust-cats.html

    Also eating them. Well, they ate that box pictured, but they got another one shortly after that which they didn’t even bother chewing up. Except for one or two small nibbles round the edges.

  7. TimT says:

    Here’s a favourite poem by 18th century writer William Cowper about a cat of his that was fond of sitting in drawers. It’s a wonderful story, worth reading right through.

    https://tspace.library.utoronto.ca/html/1807/4350/poem565.html

Leave a Reply

