The amazing generative powers of my mother's jug

As you may recall, my mother gave me a gorgeous little jug, which I keep on the kitchen window sill, and I put herbs in it. One lucky day, a bunch of boughten mint developed roots while in the jug on my window sill, and I planted them up.

Two sprigs of basil, in small floral jug, on wooden window sillHere are a couple of sprigs of basil that have been in my mother’s jug for a couple of weeks, left over from making the sauce for strangolapreti.

And today, when I went to get them out to add to today’s pasta sauce (yes, M-H, I make all my own pasta sauces too, because, well, why wouldn’t you if you can?*), look at what I found.

basilrootsHow lucky. I have a pot of basil in a shady spot in the garden, so I shall tuck these sprigs in the pot too, and see if they survive, with lots of TLC.

***************

* ‘Though of course, the are lots of reasons for buying pre-prepared food (illness, fatigue, frantic day with small children, frantic day at work, disability, don’t like cooking, some evening activity to get to, other … ). I prefer the make-huge-quantities-and-freeze-the-extra approach, but that’s not going to work for everyone.

4 comments on “The amazing generative powers of my mother's jug

  1. librarygirl says:

    A magic jug – I love it! I, on the other hand have done this with cuttings of rosemary for what seems like months and nothing happens.

    If that’s a Portmeirion Botanic garden jug – it’s all explained.

  2. homepaddock says:

    “I make all my own pasta sauces too, because. . .”

    . . ., the many justifiable reasons for not doing so notwithstanding, they taste better, you know what goes in to them and they taste better because they’re made with that vital ingredient of home cooking – vitamin L.

  3. Daleaway says:

    In recent years, when I became unable to stand at the stove, I taught my husband how to cook from scratch, including making pasta sauces. We always like to make our own if possible (we have 34 tomato plants in this year… oops!). We like the freshness.

    All the same, when we last visited a supermarket in Italy (1995), it was reassuring to see the aisles full of many varieties of dried pasta and jars of, yes, ready-made pasta sauce, familiar Dolmio among many other brands. Just like home.

    Seems like Italian housewives no longer have all day to burn, either.

    I say if you enjoy cooking, cook. If you don’t, there are no prizes for being a martyr.

  4. M-H says:

    I agree Daleaway, and will confess to always having a bottle of pasta sauce at the back fo the cupboard for emergencies. But every time I have it I think “It’s not as good as the ones we make”. But, yes, of course, there’s nothing wrong with it.

Leave a Reply

