Easter is about the food

I don’t celebrate Easter per se, but I’m very happy to eat the food. In the spirit of co-opting feasts and festive food, today I made Hot Atheist Buns, featuring the eye of Sauron. (In previous years I have decorated the tops of the buns with atheist “A”s, and Flying Spaghetti Monsters.)

(Description: Glazed fruit buns, with impressionistic eye of Sauron somewhat obscured by currants and raisins and sultanas and glace citrus peel.)

The little godless atheists in my household are not fond of fruity buns, so I made some fruit free buns, on which the eye is much more disconcerting.

(Description: Glazed plain buns, with distinct eye of Sauron.)

I used a recipe from Butter Sugar Flour. I made a couple of adjustments to her recipe, substituting brown sugar for caster sugar, and adding a couple of tablespoons full of very very very strong coffee, both in order to get brown rather than white coloured buns. And per Steph’s excellent suggestion, I made them freeform rather than cooping them up in a cake tin.

Yummy, yummy, yummy.

What food have you been eating, or plan to eat, this Eostre?

10 comments on “Easter is about the food

  1. I made hot cross buns (I’m occasionally a traditionalist) but after the first few they morphed into hot D buns, after Hungry Boy decorated them (D is the first letter of his name). They were delicious, and I should do it more often. Couldn’t find mixed fruit, though, so only sultanas.

    We had a long debate in our house as to whether you were supposed to make them on Good Friday (because of the cross) or Easter Sunday (because they rise) so I suspect we will end up with some on both days.

  2. Daleaway says:

    Buns on Good Friday, for the crucifixion, and eggs on the Sunday for the promise of new life.

  3. donnasoowho says:

    I can’t be bothered making my own buns when they’re so cheap and available at Coles. Ray made delicious pork spare ribs for dinner last night though, and we scoffed his easter egg from Haighs afterwards.

  4. Lucy Sussex says:

    Simnel cake!

  5. violet says:

    What a great concept, replacing the cross with something relatively blasphemous. I bet that if you researched the origins of the festival, it’d turn out you’re supposed to decorate ’em with penises or something.

  6. Deborah says:

    My mother says,” Yes, Easter is about the food, but it is also about family. Gathering and sharing in body and in spirit. I will cook for those present, and celebrate the spirit of those absent.”

  7. M-H says:

    donnasoowho, the ones from Coles are like sweetened cotton wool once you’ve tasted Real Ones. And they’re really not that hard to make.

    I made them this year – for the first time for ages – and I also like Pumpkin soup on Good Friday. I think it’s a hangover from earlier parts of my (catholic) life, when Good Friday meant no meat, and we usually ate macaroni cheese, from memory. But pumpkins are so cheap and plentiful at this time of year I’ve made them a tradition on good Friday.

  8. homepaddock says:

    The yeast in my fridge had a use-by date of November 2007 but the hot cross buns I made with it on Friday still rose.

    Other Easter cooking: 500 and something meringues and lamb cooked over the fire as the Argentineans do for 80th birthday celebrations.

    Today there’s no cooking, we’re eating left overs.

  9. Okay, I have now seen the FSM buns, and they ROCK (although you are right about the Shadow vessel, too).

Leave a Reply

