Blue

Blue is the sky in the diorama made by the younger Miss Eight.

Diorama - blue sky, white clouds, origami bird, rainbow, all in a shoebox

(Description: Blue sky, white clouds, white origami bird, rainbow, all in a shoebox.)

Blue is the beautiful necklace made for me by Mim. She put some pictures of beautiful necklaces that she had made on her blog. I loved the blue and white one (actually black with grey splotches, but it looks blue to me), but I wanted all-blue. And this is what she made for me. I love it.

Blue neckalnd - large black with dark grey splotches beads, interspersed with small blue beads, with silver caps between the beads.

(Description: Necklace: large snowflake obsidian – black with grey splotches – beads interspersed with smaller blue sodalight beads, silver caps between each bead.)

Blue are the irises that Dr Cat brought over for me when she came to inspect our kitchen, and take tea. (Coffee actually. Also bubbly wine and cake.) I have often admired her percipience on blog, but I had only met her IRL once before. Even so, she knew that irises are my favourite flower. Along with roses. But roses don’t come in blue, which is my favourite colour.

Vase of blue irises.  Lots of blue irises.  A great mass of blue irises.

(Description: Vase of blue irises. Lots of blue irises.)

And a bit blue has been my mood of late. But it is lifting, and something good is coming about, of which more anon.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged .

8 comments on “Blue

  1. mimbles says:

    The diorama is cute, I like the itty bitty rainbow.

    I’m so glad you’re happy with the necklace, it’s very cheering to have people saying nice things about stuff wot I made. Thank you 🙂

    I like irises too, used to buy them regularly for myself when I was in the habit of going with friends to a cafe with a kids playground, that was attached to a big florist, each week after playgroup.

  2. blue milk says:

    Oh I love your blue stuff, and I’m a little envious of Dr Cat meeting you.

    Also, why can’t we see your face in that picture?

  3. Profligate Promiscuous Strumpet says:

    I’m glad that you’re feeling a little less blue. And that something good is happening. I think that when you are blue, that is sometimes the hardest thing to see – that good things can happen/come along.

  4. Pavlov's Cat says:

    Blue milk, well may you be envious — Deborah and Mr Strange Land and the Strangelings are the warmest and most generous of hosts and their house is lovely.

    Deborah, good to see the irises matching other blues there. I love the slightly apprehensive expression with which the big bird is eyeing the rainbow.

    I take it you can’t elaborate on the something good, because of reasons.

    • Deborah says:

      Because of reasons. I will in due course.

    • meganwegan says:

      I hope that the blueness will be further lifted by visiting the sparkling blue of Wellington Harbour*.

      (What, selfish? Me?)

      Hugs, lady.

      * May not actually be blue right now, but SO is on a good day.

  5. kim says:

    A wonderful collection of blue – though I’m glad the blue feeling is lifting (I especially like the diorama).

  6. Stef says:

    I love the origami. Great work. And pfft to blue moods.

Leave a Reply

