Star the second

I’m creating a virtual star chart, to record my progress in Dry July. The star for making it through Friday 2 July without touching the demon drink is star anise.

Source: WikiMedia Commons

(Description: a handful of star anise, small, woody starshaped seedpods, each with eight slender points, some open with glossy brown seeds inside. Each little star is about 2cm wide.)

Star anise is a spice, much used in Asian cooking. I don’t use it much, but I always have some in my pantry, because I like its shape, and its name. Occasionally I stew some plums or pears with star anise.

2 comments on “Star the second

  1. violet says:

    they look so much prettier than they taste!

  2. […] Star the second – In A Strange Land has a star chart to help her stay dry for July. […]

Leave a Reply

