Star the third

I’m creating a virtual star chart, to record my progress in Dry July. The star for making it through Saturday 3 July without touching the demon drink is the star marking on a horse.

Brown horse looking over fence, round white mark in the middle of its forehead

Source: WikiMedia Commons

(Description: Brown horse looking over fence, round white mark in the middle of its forehead.)

A star is not a blaze. A star mark on a horse is a white mark between or above the eyes, whereas a blaze is a wide white stripe down the middle of the horses face. There are different types of stars, which are no doubt the subject of naming disputes among horse fanciers.

Row of stylised horse faces, each with a white mark, ranging from very small, to a large diamond shaped mark, to a crescent whorl.

Source: WikiMedia Commons

(Description: Row of stylised horse faces, each with a white mark, ranging from very small, to a large diamond shaped mark, to a crescent whorl, to a circle.)

I am not fond of horses. They are fine in theory, but up close, they are too big, and they have large chompy teeth and heavy feet. This may stem from the time spent riding a farm hack on my uncle’s farm. The horse, Heidi, could be troublesome. Once, she tore off across a paddock with me clinging to her back. I only just stayed on, and crashed into the back of her neck when she came to a thundering halt at the gate. My uncle would not let us use stirrups, for fear of us falling off, getting tangled in them, and being dragged behind a bolting horse. Sometimes Heidi could be very gentle, but other times, she would swerve and wriggle, in just such a way that we would be dislodged.

Horses. You can keep them. Give me a cat any day.

4 comments on “Star the third

  1. Helen says:

    Oh I luv them. Pretty horsie.

    Congratulations on your Dry July!

  2. donnasoowho says:

    I dunno – sometimes I’d rather have a horse than Bella…

  3. Helen says:

    I just made my first iteration of your chocolate self saucing pud. Who needs alcohol? *burp*
    It was da bomb!!

  4. blue milk says:

    My favourite star of all.

Leave a Reply

