In lieu of a Friday Feminist

Cross posted

I am heartsore this week, sad about the deaths caused by the earthquake in Christchurch, aware that the weeks and months ahead will be difficult beyond belief for the people living there, regretful about the loss of the beautiful buildings.

In lieu of a Friday Feminist quote, I ask you to spend a moment thinking of the people of Christchurch. I know that most of us have had Christchurch in our minds all week, just as we have been so aware of the slow flooding disaster in Queensland and New South Wales and Victoria. Even so, take a moment.

And then, carry on. People in the eastern states of Australia, people in Christchurch need us to carry on, to keep working, to keep caring and loving, to keep on scrutinising our politicians and our officials. They are depending on us to keep the place running and to support them while they work to get their lives, their homes, their communities, back together again.

Each time I have seen photos of the toppled spire of Canterbury Cathedral this week, I have thought of a plaque I saw there many years ago, when I was still a student.

He aha te mea nui o te ao?
He tangata! He tangata! He tangata!

What is the most important thing in the world?
It is people! It is people! It is people!

5 comments on “In lieu of a Friday Feminist

  1. Mindy says:

    We have had the happy news tonight that all family in Christchurch are accounted for. Planning my donation on payday next week.

  2. demelza says:

    beautifully put… I belong to a small craft group online, there are 21 of us, 1 of our members lives in Chch, and 2 are near there… our group has put together in a space of 3 days a series of auctions of handmade goods to raise money for Chch Womens refuge and the salvation army… we choose them because the numbers of people that they will help are huge and we respect the work they do….

    it amazed me that a small group of us are managing to bring together $$$ for those who need it… its all being done because we care and want to help…. its all about the people isnt it….

    ps if you want to help check out http://www.facebook.com/handmadeforchristchurch

  3. Jennifer says:

    Thanks for this. I too am heartsore. I cant think what to say but can’t stop reading the news, as I know so many people in and from Christchurch, friends and relatives. As far as I know all are safe, but facing months of discomfort and rebuilding.

  4. […] really like what Deborah wrote only a few weeks ago: ‘and then carry on’. I’ve reminded myself of it many […]

  5. blue milk says:

    So nicely written.

Leave a Reply

