New blog in town: The Stroppery

There’s a fabulous new group feminist blog in town, with line-up of stroppy writers.

The Stroppery

We like to swear, and no, we don’t take shit. We talk about politics and sex, fashion and abortion, violence and The Patriarchy. Sometimes, we like to talk about them REALLY LOUDLY.

Excellent!

The Stroppery: tea, crumpets, and fucking the patriarchy

16 comments on “New blog in town: The Stroppery

  1. QoT says:

    Thanks Deborah!

  2. Boganette says:

    Thanks Deborah!!! 🙂

  3. Sanctuary says:

    I was talking to an attractive young feminist the other day (ye Gads! I found the only one!) and she can barely be bothered flicking through the handmirror (“a bunch of boring women who talk about cup cakes all the time” was her quote of the night), I doubt the the stroppery will do more than help the move towards the apparent NZ feminist nirvana – a world where all twenty of them have their own blogs, thus forming a virtuous circle of mutually back-slapping warrior princesses who need not ever reference reality ever again.

    You guys really ought to seek to recruit a few more pretty young women, and find out what they are thinking.

    • Julie says:

      Sheesh, and some people think I don’t post enough about cupcakes! You just can’t please everyone can you.

      Piece of advice Sanctuary; quit trying so hard to annoy people, it’s pretty transparent. In some circles they call it trolling you know.

    • Deborah says:

      There’s plenty of space in the blogosphere, Sanctuary, more than room enough for THM and The Stroppery and any number of individual feminist and feminist group blogs based in Aotearoa New Zealand, and some of those will suit some women more than others. All there is to it, really.

      Funny how women’s understandings of the world are never realistic, but men’s always are…

  4. southernrata says:

    Sanctuary, that was incredibly offensive, for more reasons than I have time right now to enumerate.

  5. robertguyton says:

    At least I’m minding my manners here!

  6. robertguyton says:

    Manners!
    Seriously though. I blotted my copy book on day one (and two).

    • Deborah says:

      Yes…. I saw. It’s a shame, because I don’t doubt your good intentions at all. I know the people blogging there, and they’re not given to holding grudges, so my guess is that a bit of quiet listening and reading for a while before commenting again would help.

      And you’re very welcome here, anytime. As indeed I’m sure you will be in due course over at The Stroppery.

      I would post a picture of the beautiful quinces my mother has on her bench, given to her by my uncle (I collected them from him today as I drove through his town up to my parents’ home), but I left my camera back at Greenhills. Might try with my Dad’s camera. Because truly, their frangrance is so exquisite that it would drift through the screen and all the way down to Southland for you.

  7. robertguyton says:

    Thanks Deborah. Robyn and I bought a basket of big quinces back with us from Timaru where we stayed with Alvina Murphy. Her quinces were fragrentisima (sp) and filled the car with pineapple wonderfulness all the way home. Our own are not quite as heavily scented but I’m proud to have them growing here anyway.

  8. tallulahspankhead says:

    Wow, sanctuary…that was…impressively offensive. We’ve pretty clearly stated we don’t always agree with another, and that we’re trying to bring a plurality of views. .

    Given how much you seem to dislike The Hand Mirror, I’d have thought you’d appreciate a blog with a different voice. I am kind of tempted to go and put up a picture of cupcakes, right now. (Julie, I’d say the cupcake ratio is about perfect. :))

    As for whether we are pretty young women? Aside from whether that is even remotely relevant to anything, perhaps you could let us actually write some things before deciding we are bitter old hags. (I certainly am, but I’d hate to speak for the others.)

    (And Robert: What Deborah said. Seriously, learn a little about the tone, and what we are doing. Intent is a wonderful thing, but it’s not magic.)

  9. QoT says:

    Hi Deborah,

    I just want to say there is no “grudge”, nor am I actually interested in “good intentions”. As I feel I explained quite calmly and without even dropping the naughty f-word once, robert’s comments were dominating the conversation in a problematic way and my advice to him was to stop continuing that. I do appreciate the intentions of other bloggers who have weighed in on this, but really I think it’s a done issue.

    • Deborah says:

      I think it’s done too, over at The Stroppery. But he came by my place to talk about it, rather than keeping it going over at The Stroppery. I’m happy for him to talk about it here, and for me to respond to it here.

  10. poneke says:

    Good heavens, the Stroppery is gone already, with one last message suggesting a massive falling out of the bloggers.

  11. robertguyton says:

    Just back from Nelson (permaculture hui @ Motueka) to find all sign of the Stroppery erased! No hope for my education now. I’ll go to my grave tone-deaf it seems!
    What in Fey Hag’s name happened??

  12. Gravey Dice says:

    Sorry it’s late, but … where the hell are my cupcakes?
    And pretty young feminists? That’s me. Well, not exactly pretty. Or young. And feminist? That is a state of mind, so I guess one out of three is …pretty crap at 33%, but it will do for me.

    Jeez I talk shit when I am tired.

Leave a Reply

