Welcome to Radio New Zealand listeners

Welcome to people who have come by here to check out the lawn art, after Ele mentioned it on Radio New Zealand today. Thank you, Ele! I was driving home from work, rather earlier than usual, listening to your lovely discussion about children’s books. So by sheer chance I caught your mention of my blog. It was a lovely surprise on this beautiful autumn day.

For people who are new here, my blog is called, “A Bee of a Certain Age”, but the URL, or web address, beefaerie, is based on my given names. I think of it as “Bee Faerie”. I’ve explained “Bee” in a earlier post here. The standard reward, that is, the admiration of your peers, to anyone who can tell me the etymology of the second part of my address i.e. “faerie”.

13 comments on “Welcome to Radio New Zealand listeners

  1. homepaddock says:

    You’re very welocme, I enjoy your blog and from what Jim said he was pleased to be introduced to it to.

    Is “faerie” associated with Edmund Spenser’s Faerie Queene – and does that make you the Queen Bee?

  2. Tamara says:

    Faerie is the land where the fairies, or faie, dwell. Do you have fairies at the bottom of your garden?

  3. M-H says:

    I’d always thought it was the Faerie Queen too. Huh.

  4. Carol says:

    Or ferries at the bottom of your garden? No, wait, that is Devonport.

  5. Jan says:

    Have you read Tolkien’s essay on Faerie? Very interesting and faerie was not all sweetness and light. (commenting only on essay here, not blog!) It’s long out of print. I had a copy as a leaflet and lost that. Managed to find another in an Unwin Press, London, imprint of Tree and Leaf along with the piece on faerie. I imagine that’s also OP as it’s originally printed in that edition in 1964, eighth impression 1973. Tolkien says Faerie is a perilous land with pitfalls for the unwary and dungeons for the overbold. “An essential power of Faerie is the power f making immediately effective by the will the visions of ‘fantasy’. Faerie begins, man(generic, my parenthesis} becomes a sub-creator. Page 25, my edition.

  6. Jan says:

    Close inverted commas after “sub- creator.” Mea culpa.

  7. Deborah says:

    @Jan – I do have Tolkien’s essay, a 1988 second edition of the 1964 book Tree and Leaf, ‘though I haven’t read it for many years. Your comment me think of Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell, which I read a year or two ago. Very creepy faerie.

  8. Deborah says:

    Clearly everyone has given up on winning the admiration of their peers. It’s very simple, really. My second name is Faye. Hence Bee (Deborah) Faerie (Faye).

  9. robertguyton says:

    Ah, fare-thee-well my fairie fey – I wonder why they paired the two words in the song (polly-wolly-doodle).
    Still wanting to know more about Fey Hag 🙂

  10. robertguyton says:

    Btw – my ‘Tree and Leaf” (On fairy-stories, Leaf by Niggle) is the 1964 version and I take it with me whenever I travel and expect to have enough time to read.
    “I propose to write about fairy-stories, though I am aware that this is a rash adventure.” Classic.

  11. robertguyton says:

    Also (sorry to dominate the thread in a privileged Patriachal manner) I read Edmund Spencer’s ‘Faerie Queene’ cover to cover, as a 15-year-old and loved every tortuous moment of it (in long black weeds yclad etc…) The Red Cross Knight, naturally enough, was central to my interest.

  12. Tamara says:

    I have Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell, it really did draw me in to that dark world.

Leave a Reply

