Friday Feminist – Blue Milk

Cross posted

Don’t go out and get drunk, it could lead to you getting raped. Also, don’t have sex with someone because it could get you raped by someone they know. Don’t be young, that could definitely get you raped. While we’re at it, especially don’t be a child, that could really get you raped. Don’t be older either, that can get you raped. Don’t be living in a nursing home; women get raped there. In fact, what are you even doing in an establishment like that, are you asking for it? Don’t be single; single girls are sluts. Sluts get themselves raped. Don’t be married either or you could get raped by your husband. Don’t go jogging, that is just irresponsible. Don’t go to carparks, that can get you raped.

Blue Milk, “Don’t get raped”, 2010.

9 comments on “Friday Feminist – Blue Milk

  1. Mindy says:

    Great choice for Friday Feminist. Very topical too.

  2. Fey Hag says:

    There are males of the species that will copulate with anything that has a pulse & some things that don’t.
    All these males had Mothers to get here.
    What happened! We will never know.
    Rape has been with us from the beginning of time & only we can change the attitudinal climate that allows it to persist.
    I believe that if our society valued all children & put their needs before anything else, we could wipe rape out in 2 generations.
    If we show care & respect, we receive care & respect in return.
    A society that taxes baby milk & food tells you all you need to know about that societies priorities.

  3. Gravey Dice says:

    One thing I am really hoping I can get some movement on is for more men to accept their compliance in the creation of rape culture. We’ve seen it before – the response being “I’m not a rapist – I haven’t done anything against women”.

    Problem is, many of the men who say this have also done nothing to stop it. They’ve done nothing to change the behaviour and attitude of other men. Neither had I until recently. I’d always accepted my part in the whole sorry scheme of things, but until the influence of so many wonderful women in the blogosphere, I’ve never done anything active about it.

    It’s the classic point. The only sure-fire rape-prevention strategy is for men to choose to not rape.

    @Fey Hag: I’ve often thought that – if we seriously want to resolve many of our social ills, we almost have to write off the current generation (probably even the next) but we start with raising children in an environment of love, respect and integrity….

  4. blue milk says:

    Oh my god – how flattered am I? VERY!

    • Deborah says:

      It’s stuck in my mind ever since you wrote it, Blue Milk. I wanted to find something relevant to Slutwalk this week, mostly because of discussions at The Lady Garden, but I couldn’t find anything else nearly as good. And I’m really pleased to see that since I linked to it, a few of my Facebook friends have been linking to it. So I hope it spreads even further.

  5. Stef says:

    Blue Milk is awesome!LOVE

  6. TimT says:

    OT – (great quote but) – Deborah, do you ever read the Spectator? There’s a very weird article in their antipodean edition that I thought you might be amused/cheerfully indignant about, about Don Brash, ‘Thatcher’s Kiwi heir’. Details here –

    http://willtypeforfood.blogspot.com/2011/05/inspectatoring.html

    And I hope the link works because blogger’s been playing up lately…

  7. Helen says:

    When Blue Milk’s a famous name like Wolf or Butler we’ll all say “we knew her when…”

Leave a Reply

