Party food

For Stef. Also for the lovely Julie Fairey, whose cupcake pictures inspired me. And for others who love pretty party food.

From the Misses Nine’s birthday party today. They are still nine: their actual birthday falls later in the week.

The cakes:

Cakes

Two yoghurt chocolate cakes, covered in chocolate icing, and luridly decorated with Smarties (like Pebbles, or M&Ms). In what has become a family tradition, the girls decorated their cakes themselves.

Fruit and lolly kebabs:

Fruit and lolly kebabs

Kebabs made up with fruit and lollies in this order: kiwifruit chunk, marshmallow, pineapple chunk, chocolate sprat, pineapple chunk, marshmallow, kiwifruit chunk. For readers from outside New Zealand, chocolate sprats are small fish shaped, chocolate coated marshmallows.

Fairy gardens:

Fairy gardens

I had planned to make frog ponds (see the second photo here), but I couldn’t find chocolate frogs. I found mushroom lollies instead, so I made fairy gardens – half rounds of oranges with the flesh scooped out and the juice used to make jelly, decorated with one mushroom lolly and two spearmint leaves each.

Rainbow cupcakes:

Rainbow cupcakes

Cupcakes with soft blue icing, each with a multi-coloured fruit strip rainbow arched above and anchored in royal icing clouds.

As I brought the kebabs and the fairy gardens out, the assembled children sighed. Then when the rainbow cupcakes appeared, they said in tones of great delight, “Oooooohhhhh.”

It was highly gratifying.

My grateful thanks to a friend who is staying with us who helped me with the fiddly bits.

14 comments on “Party food

  1. azlemed says:

    they look awesome, great stuff… I will be struggling to even make a birthday cake for miss nearly 8 this week

  2. Stef says:

    ZOMG swoon!

    @Azlemed shame you don’t live closer kids cakes are my speciality.

  3. Ariane says:

    That’s just…. wow!

  4. Jackie Clark says:

    Deborah – you are a star. I particularly like the rainbow fairy cakes, and little gardens. Very apt, I thought!

  5. Huia says:

    Those rainbow cupcakes are just gorgeous. What is the rainbow strip?

    • Deborah says:

      They’re some kind of sweets that the girls got from the local dairy. I don’t know how widely available they are. I suppose rainbows could also be made with piped icing, but it might be quite a long and fiddly process.

  6. azlemed says:

    thank you so much, she will think its fab, we are going skating friday afternoon for a party if any of your girls want to come too…
    @stef, you arer definitely the queen of kids cakes

  7. moz says:

    it looks yummy. But I must be getting old, as it looks like too much sugar.

    And the fruit & lolly kebabs disturb me. It’s just a combination that weirds me out, somehow. I don’t know why, it just does. I think it’s the mental tastage of biting into a pineapple lump and a bit of kiwifruit at the same time.

    • Deborah says:

      Hmmm… not a pineapple lump (chocolate covered lollie), but a chunk of fresh pineapple.

      The kids usually pull each piece off and eat them singly, rather than biting into several at once, so I don’t think they end up with unusual taste combos.

      Too much sugar… yes, probably, ‘though it’s somewhat reduced by making jelly with the juice from the oranges. But only somewhat. I didn’t show the first savoury course: honey and soy chicken nibbles, sausages, mince pies. Still not what one would call a balanced meal, but not too bad for a birthday party.

  8. moz says:

    That was meant to be my personal reaction, not a judgement. Sorry for not making that clear.

    And my expectations of kids birthday party food are that it will consist of too much sugar. I trust you to provide some balance, and just assumed it was there. I’m used to kids parties where I have to wade slowly because there’s so many fast moving little bodies that there’s a risk of either tripping over or standing on one of them. Which is part of the fun, but also generates the need for an afternoon nap (gawd, I feel like a grandparent saying that)

    • Deborah says:

      We tend to opt for a well earned bottle of wine rather than an afternoon nap.

      Re sugar etc, I think it’s obligatory! And yes, too much for me. I didn’t try any of the food, not even the cupcakes. I must be getting Too.Old.For.It.

      My darlings have said it was their best birthday party ever, which has overtones of Juan Antonio Samaranch and his evaluation of each Olympics, but they actually meant it. I think I have the formula sussed now, just as they are getting to the age where they won’t want to have such parties any more.

    • Deborah says:

      Also, I’m sorry that I misread you. D.

  9. Rachel says:

    I still remember the birthday cakes my mum made me. I bet your girls will, too!

Leave a Reply

