It is a truth universally acknowledged…

It is a truth universally acknowledged, that when one drops one’s mobile phone in a thermally heated pool at Taupo, it is no more. It has ceased to be. It has expired and gone to meet its maker. It is a stiff, bereft of life, it rests in peace in a bowl of rice. It is an ex-mobile phone.

It seems that my sim card has survived the dousing, and it may yet be the case that I will be able to retrieve my list of contacts from my phone, should the bowl of rice perform satisfactorily. And I have an old phone on hand which will do duty until my doused phone revives, or I buy a new one. In the meantime, it seems that I have lost everyone’s numbers. Should you have been one of those people with whom I txt, you might perhaps send me a message, including your name, please, so that I can reconnect with the world.

With apologies to Jane. And the Pythons.

3 comments on “It is a truth universally acknowledged…

  1. PAUL says:

    Dear Pavlov’s Cat. Oh yes the old rice trick… if you put the sodden device on a container of rice then the moisture will be absorbed by the rice and if the innards are not fried then it may fire up again. The trap for young players to avoid is that of impatience. Make sure that it is left for far longer than one would think is necessary and the container needs to be sealed too. Also do not attempt to power the device up… removing the battery for the drying is a good idea. We got a perfect result on an i-thingy that went through an entire regular cycle in the washing machine using the rice method.

    Deborah, I applaud your catch and release policy but I don’t think the thermal pools are a natural habitat for ones phone.

    Paul

  2. che tibby says:

    yeah, i had a motorola that a certain little person put into the washing machine.

    dried it out on the windowsill in strong sunlight, and viola! worked until i eventually replaced it.

    i see this as *extremely* lucky.

Leave a Reply

