Marriage should be for everyone or no-one

I have an opinion piece in the Dom Post this morning.

Gay, straight, bi – marriage should be for all

As always, the subbing is not mine. And this time, the editors have taken one word out. Perhaps they thought that it was going too far to suggest that “quartets” should be able to get married. Or perhaps they just thought that the sentence read better without it.

8 comments on “Marriage should be for everyone or no-one

  1. Carol says:

    Fighting talk! I loved it, with or without quartets.

  2. Tamara says:

    Great piece Deborah. I agree wholeheartedly.

    Pity they dropped the word “marriage” in the first line ;).

  3. Katherine says:

    As I understand it, the laws are the same for married couples as for people in civil unions or de facto relationships – except for the points about who is allowed to enter into them and around who performs which ceremonies. So civil unions should be being recognised as the same as marriages everywhere in NZ except when you’re looking for a celebrant.

    I take your point that it is still discrimination, and is very ‘seperate but equal’, but because of the above, until I read your article, I thought that the laws were fine (lesbian and gay-wise, but obviously needing some work to incorporate groups).

    • To be blunt, I’ve gotten rather tired of listening to well-intentioned heterosexuals telling me I should be happy with “separate and unequal” treatment before the law because a civil union is marriage in all but name. Way too much unthinking heterosexist privilege in the house (and The House) for my liking.

    • Still, I guess it shouldn’t be much of a surprise. Funny how it always seems to be GLBT folks (and women) who get told to STFU and stop being a distraction from “real issues” — as defined by middle-class, middle-aged. mostly white cis-hetero males, of course.

Leave a Reply

