To my dear friends and sisters in Australia

I’m very sorry. This man was awful when he was on New Zealand TV, and now he will be popping up on your screens.

Paul Henry: ‘Aussies will love me’

He’s known for mocking Susan Boyle, and criticising a Green Peace campaigner for having facial hair, and for making racist comments about our governor-general. The Hand Mirror has an excellent summary of his history on New Zealand TV: Paul Henry – MCP round-up. Pop on over there to see exactly why you really don’t want him.

We’ve sent some pretty good exports to Australia over the years, such as John Clark. I hope you are as glad to have him as we are sad to have lost him. But Paul Henry? I’d be stopping him at the border and throwing him back this way, if you could.

It will be interesting to see how long he lasts.

5 comments on “To my dear friends and sisters in Australia

  1. Chally says:

    Wait, so the one free to air commercial network which actually attempts to provide entertainment for children in the morning is now spewing out more rubbish breakfast showiness?

    Also, I suppose if we keep stealing your talent and cultural products, we have to expect a bit of a downside now and then, although I’d really rather avoid racist and body-shaming stuff… so thanks for the heads up.

  2. M-H says:

    Who watches commercial breakfast tele? Not me. There are, believe it or not, bigger dickheads in the genre already: I give you Kyle Sandilands. A plague on all their houses.

    And Chally, there is the ABC, with it’s four channels on free-to-air, including ABCkids.

  3. Chally says:

    Hence “commercial” in my last comment – I love ABC Kids/ABC3. Hopefully they’ll air more children’s telly on the digital free to air channels, but that doesn’t help the people still stuck with analog and rubbish breakfast telly like this show is shaping up to be…!

  4. che tibby says:

    based on my experiences in Australia, a great many will love him.

  5. Mindy says:

    Maybe he will make Bolt look worse and we might only end up with one of them?

Leave a Reply

