“Outspoken”

The producer of TVNZ’s Breakfast show contacted me late yesterday afternoon, and asked if I would appear on the show this morning, to talk about marriage equality.

I said yes.

Here’s how they billed me:

With Australian’s locked in the debate around legalising same-sex marriage ahead of an historical vote, Breakfast asks outspoken critic Dr Deborah Russell if we need to rethink our position.

“Outspoken”…. does that mean a woman who has an opinion?

You can watch the segment here: Same-sex marriage – 3m52seconds

It was an interesting experience. My first, bar a panel discussion on republicanism over ten years ago on a Wellington regional channel.

Things I learned:

  • Shut my mouth while the other person is speaking.
  • Hairspray my hair down firm, or one strand will stand up and wave itself about in very distracting fashion.
  • Very pale make-up looks fine in person, but is bloody awful on TV.
  • Relax!

It was filmed in a studio in Greenhills. I couldn’t see the interviewer, and I had to look into a camera in a very dark room. It was all very unnerving.

But fun! I’m very glad I had the opportunity to do it, and very glad to be able to make some arguments in favour of marriage equality on national TV.

17 comments on ““Outspoken”

  1. “Is it a case of equality versus morality…”

    Oh, Petra – how much do I want to slap thee, let me count the ways…

  2. mimbles says:

    Fabulous job Deborah! Well done 🙂

  3. M-H says:

    But….but….but…. why is marriage a matter for the churches, and civil union for the state? I don’t know about NZ, but in Aus only a small percentage of marriages are conducted in churches; most people get married by civil celebrants, (Don’t know the figures, sorry.) And good answer on the ‘equality vs morality’ furfee too. Whose morality, indeed!

    Marriage is a state matter; people may choose to have their wedding performed by a church representative, but (as you pointed out) he or she is licensed by the state to perform that marriage. It’s not a right churches and church people have, it’s a privilege.

  4. Unmana says:

    You were wonderful! You sound so smart (not that I would expect any less) and I love that snappy comeback: “Whose morality?” You do look a tiny bit stiff but hey, I would have been petrified stiff in your place, and probably answering in umms and uhhhs. 🙂

  5. Pavlov's Cat says:

    You did seem just slightly nervous, but you started to relax and get into your stride just as the interview began to wind up, which is always the way. Didn’t notice any of the other things. Did notice the lucid, unhesitating, perfectly formed sentences and the beautiful necklace.

  6. Mindy says:

    Ahhh I did notice the lovely necklace and wondered why they had done your makeup so pale compared to the host.

  7. Chally says:

    Whose morality indeed! Oh, that’s our Deborah on TV! Oh, Deborah, you really were fabulous. Squee!

  8. Stephanie says:

    I think they got the wrong adjective, you are obviously awesome

  9. Helen says:

    Oh yay you! It’s a nice and rare treat to see an intelligent person get to comment on these things instead of the media pandering to the Joe de Bruyns (Aus) or NZ equivalent.

  10. Denny says:

    You were great! So articulate and succinct. I hope you are invited more often to comment on “controversial” issues.

  11. Raymond A Francis says:

    What to add:
    I felt you spoke very clearly, with well paced timing and with a great rebutal
    For something that you feel strongly about you came over as very reasoned

    As a long time reader of your Blog (s) it was nice to put a face and voice to you
    I know you are a seasoned debater but I was impressed..honestly… and I noticed the necklace

  12. violet says:

    I thought they’d do your make up for you, so you wouldn’t have to worry about it. I hope it went well. I’ve only ever seen myself on recording once and I was a shiny and pink mess.

  13. merc says:

    I don’t twitter so here seems fine, last night on Media7, first time watcher me, you were amazing. The right mix of serious and funny and all points between. Anna? spoke alot, was fine, and you were very polite and not at all looking uncomfortable.
    Russell was pretty good as well.

  14. Geoff says:

    Really enjoying reading through your blog. I thought that was a great interview. As a gay person, I personally don’t have an opinion on gay marriage (am happy with civil union legislation) but I have many friends that do care about it. So on their behalf, thank you!

Leave a Reply

