Anzac Day 2012

I helped Miss Ten the Younger to make a batch of Anzac biscuits.

She mixed.

Miss Ten adding wet ingredients to dry for Anzac biscuits

She stirred.

Miss Ten stirring the Anzac biscuits mix

She rolled and baked and lifted the biccies from the tray.

Miss Ten lifting the Anzac biccies from the baking slide

They were perfect.

Perfect Anzac biscuits, golden brown and crisp on the outside, chewy within

I made a cake for my mother’s birthday. Because her birthday will be one that ends in “0”, I made one of these cakes.

I helped Mr Bee with some digging and lifting and laying matting in a corner of the backyard, to make a space for our recyling bins.

Ms Thirteen rode on her bike to a friend’s place for the day.

I worked on some of the difficult passages in the Mozart requiem that my choir is singing.

Mr Bee did some of his paid work. I did some of my paid work.

I played Scrabble on my iPad.

Mr Bee and I watched a Spitfire flying loop-the-loops over our town.

I looked at some clothes that a dear friend hunted out for me on-line. I’m thinking that the orangey-red ruched one might be the go.

The Misses Ten rode on their bikes down to the local primary school to play on the jungle gyms there.

Mr Bee ran some errands down town.

I did a bit of shopping.

I made a rich stew for dinner. A soffrito of garlic and onions, to which I added celery, capsicums, mushrooms and grated carrot, followed by some canned tomatoes. I browned the meat in batches and added it to the mix, and deglazed the pan with a splash of red wine and beef stock, which went into the stew as well. I picked thyme, parsley, parcel and marjoram and chopped them and added them to the stew, along with some bay leaves and salt and pepper. It all went into the oven for a long slow cook. I served it with mashed taties and green beans and broccoli.

Mr Bee played a game of chess with Ms Thirteen, and another with Miss Ten the Younger.

I helped the Misses Ten with their piano practice.

I thought of the great great uncle who is buried somewhere in France.

In peace.

This is the first of two Anzac Day posts. The second is: Make it stop.

4 comments on “Anzac Day 2012

  1. Amanda says:

    I think about war and its impact on people in my family quite often- but I just don’t have anything new to feel or say about Anzac Day so instead we celebrated Anzac Biscuit Day and time off work.

  2. Paul says:

    As I understand it, the ANZAC Biscuit has no eggs and therefore would not go off when undertaking the journey overseas. I feel the real test of Miss Tens biscuits would be for her to make a batch and send them…

  3. suzoz says:

    Played Scrabble on your iPad? Not Scrabble in Facebook? If so, how? Thought it didn’t work without Flash.

    • Deborah says:

      I got the iPad Scrabble app, which is kind of pricey as iPad apps go, but I managed to pick it up when it was on special one day. Even better, since then Mr Bee has bought himself an iPad, and paid the full fare for the Scrabble app, so we can play against each other on our local area network. #nerds

Leave a Reply

