On quotas, and diversity, and getting more women into Parliament

There’s been an FSM-almightly stoush in New Zealand over the last few days, about the use of quotas to achieve gender equity in Parliament. I’ve blogged about it over at my other place, and this morning, I have an opinion piece in the Dominion Post.

Quotas may be needed to boost female MPs

I’ve wrote another opinion piece for the Dom Post about a year ago, on the need for diversity in Parliament: Straight white men have lost power.

For a round-up of posts on the issue by feminists, check the Queen of Thorns: And a few more thoughts on quotas.

And for an MSM round-up of articles and blog posts on the issues, check Bryce Edward’s NZ Politics round-up in the NZ Herald.

2 comments on “On quotas, and diversity, and getting more women into Parliament

  1. M-H says:

    Good article in the DomPost, but my FSM, those comments are horrible. And personal, you ‘academic type’! I’m always telling people here that NZ is a kinder, gentler place than Aus, but I think I’d better revise that opinion.

Leave a Reply

