Not-cross-buns, 2014

As has become traditional in our house, I have made not-cross-buns for Easter. This year I’ve changed recipes. I used a recipe from Anne Else’s blog, Something Else to Eat, which Anne says comes to her from her friend Ali, who has used an Alison Holst recipe, but modified it a little. I modified the recipe a little too – I added a teaspoon of coffee powder and a teaspoon of cocoa to the spice mix, to give the buns a darker colour, and instead of using mixed dried fruit, I used a mix of raisins, currants and glace peel.

I made the designs on top using a paste of flour, icing sugar and water (about 2 tablespoons of flour, 1 tablespoon of icing sugar, and enough water to get a firmish paste). And I made a caster sugar and water glaze rather than using a brown sugar or golden syrup glaze. Because recipes are just a suggestion, after all…

As for this year’s designs:

By request from the younger busy bees, Harry Potter scar buns. These buns are fruitless, to cater for the people in my house who don’t care for dried fruit.

Harry Potter not-cross-buns

Harry Potter not-cross-buns

Fruity Starfleet insignia buns.

Fruity Starfleet insignia not-cross-buns

Fruity Starfleet insignia not-cross-buns

Served with lashings of butter and coffee.

Coffee and buns

Coffee and buns

These are the best not-cross-buns I have made so far. The recipe from Anne-Ali-Alison is excellent. The buns had a lovely texture, not too dense, not too fluffy, and the flavour was great. They were also quite easy to make – a lot less time consuming than some other bun recipes I have used.

I hope that you’re having a restful Easter.

The not-cross-buns I’ve made in previous years:
2013 – Deathly Hallows
2012 – Darwin Fish
2010 – the Eye of Sauron
2009 – Flying Spaghetti Monster buns
2008 – Atheist “A” buns

One comment on “Not-cross-buns, 2014

  1. Mindy says:

    Mmmmm not cross buns. Have a lovely Easter.

Leave a Reply

